Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

Go on a peaceful walk through the woods.

Explore beautiful trees and water bugs whirling through the reflections.
2

Hello my friend—

Every week, I meet online with a small group of photographer friends and we take turns sharing 5-10 photos. It is incredibly inspiring to see each other’s photography because we see so differently. We take each other on mini trips around the world and in each other’s back yards, checking out people, buildings, nature, creative edits, and evocative stories that seep out of still frames… sharing a few favorite moments from the abundant treasures found on our travels.

I absolutely love this weekly practice, and it is inspiring a change in how I approach my work—I’m moving from sharing a single photos to sharing a small collection of art. This week, I’d like to take you on a peaceful walk through the woods. These are a few of my favorite trees…

First, a close look at one of my favorite ponds. I come here to find peace in nature and gaze at the the water bugs whirling through the reflections.

Redbud blossoms dance like wind swirling through the forest.

Peering through bare branches and blocks of colorful new leaves.

Look at this cute fuzzy little button eat its lunch. The leaves look like tiny birds in a rookery, alive with activity. In the foreground, the branches glow with ultraviolet outlines.

Impressionist, painterly tree as perceived with a LensBaby Velvet 85 lens. The wider the aperture, the stronger the painterly effect.

Infinite depth in the forest as seen through these few simple branches. A lone leaf has remained attached to its tree through the winter. The buds glow with new life in the afternoon light.

The fresh pink dogwood bloom photo knocks my eyeballs out with its gorgeous, bright colors! It’s such a happy photo and I love it so much that I put it in my shop.

Illuminated dogwood blooms float through the dark woods.

White dogwood blooms splashed across the shadowy shape of a tree.

I hope you feel relaxed and inspired by this moment in nature. What collection of 5-10 photos would you put together from this week, this year? What kind of adventure would you take us on through your camera? Please do share what you see!

Sending you beautiful light - Lauren

Discussion about this podcast

How To Take Photos
How To Take Photos Podcast
A gentle creative lifestyle guide for everyone who says “I want to take photos" (especially ones who think they’re not creative but they’re willing to try).
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Lauren Elaine Coleman